Green Day to Release Greatest Hits Album Titled God’s Favorite Band

amplifymagazine October 18, 2017 0
Green Day to Release Greatest Hits Album Titled God’s Favorite Band

Green Day’s latest album Revolution Radio mostly rescinded its anti-government outcry in favor of distant reflection on youth and sexual frustration. To date, they’ve released too many albums—they’ve run the gamut of what a major rock band can be in the U.S., you might say.

But on Nov. 17, Green Day will release a second round of greatest hits titled God’s Favorite Band after a joke from their Colbert appearance earlier this year. Their first greatest hits album was, of course, International Superhits!, which came out in 2001 and covered everything up until their politically charged phase turned rock opera turned soap opera (American Idiot, cough cough). The tracklist for God’s Favorite Band is below, and if you’re a millennial rather than a Gen X-er, you’ll find a nice balance of their entire career. If you’re on a strict diet of Dookie only, steer clear.

The album, available for preorder here, will feature two new tracks, “Back In The USA” and “Ordinary World,” a ballad from Revolution Radio, de-punked with vocals from country star Miranda Lambert, who has traditionally worn less eyeliner than any member of Green Day.

See Green Day’s God’s Favorite Band announcement and the album’s tracklist below, and while you’re waiting for its release, we have some old favorites for you from the Paste Cloud. Below, watch Green Day “Paper Lanterns” and “One of My Lies” at Woodstock ‘94, with Billy Joe introducing the latter like so: “This is off one of our records no one has” (2005’s Kerplunk).

God’s Favorite Band Tracklist:

01. 2000 Light Years Away
02. Longview
03. Welcome To Paradise
04. Basket Case
05. When I Come Around
06. She
07. Brain Stew
08. Hitchin’ A Ride
09. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)
10. Minority
11. Warning
12. American Idiot
13. Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
14. Holiday
15. Wake Me Up When September Ends
16. Know Your Enemy
17. 21 Guns
18. Oh Love
19. Bang Bang
20 “Still Breathing”
21 “Ordinary World” (Feat. Miranda Lambert)
22 “Back In The USA”

Leave A Response »